top of page

Self Isolation and Food Frustration


Image Credit: Pixabay

Quarantine has become a stressful time for most people, and that stress and anxiety can be reflected in our eating habits. Sometimes these habits form unintentionally, but then next thing we know, we’re stuck in a hole.

Emily Fultz, a registered dietitian, owns a private practice, Fit with Food LLC. She reminds us that we are not alone in feeling overwhelmed and experiencing a new relationship with food during these times.

“If food helps you survive this emotional time, then so be it!” Fultz said.

However, Fultz addresses that concern arises when we realize that food is the only thing helping us cope, if you have a history of an eating disorder, if you feel guilt after eating or if your food choices are negatively impacting your health.

“Once you clearly see that you are turning to food during this stressful time you can take some action to overcome this,” Fultz said.

Sophomore communications major McKenzie Fagan has formed a new relationship with food during the quarantine.

“At first, I began eating everything in sight because I still had my appetite from school. But that severely changed when I didn’t do anything but sit and do my homework,” Fagan said.

In order to become more self aware of your relationship with food, Fultz suggested creating a schedule to make mealtimes a priority and to sit down for your meals. Another point is that overeating can be caused by not eating enough earlier in the day, so be sure not to underfuel.

“I started to skip meals because I would forget to eat. I was actually losing weight! Now I’m working out and keeping track of my eating so that I maintain a healthy weight,” Fagan said.

Sophomore pre-nursing student Maddy Small has also noticed a pattern of meal skipping since being home.

“I would say that I’m skipping more meals honestly because I don’t feel like I’m doing enough to eat three meals a day,” Small said.

However, when you do skip a meal, it often leads to a binge later. There is oftentimes a guilt that comes with binging that makes us want to skip another meal. It is important to look past this guilt and get back to normal, Fultz said.

When binging happens, Fultz said to “accept that you may have eaten more than usual and get right back into your routine. Do not try to skip meals to make up for it, as this will just lead to a vicious cycle.”

This is a difficult time for everyone, but this mindset can help you remain healthy during quarantine. Creating a new relationship with food will not only help you through staying at home, but will help in the future to stay in balance with food.

Feel free to visit Emily’s website to learn more about what she does or if you’re considering nutrition counseling.

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
FOLLOW ME
SEARCH BY TAGS
FEATURED POSTS
INSTAGRAM
ARCHIVE
bottom of page