top of page

Experiencing Another Culture Through Challah and Shabbat


Image by Monika Baechler from Pixabay

It’s the First Look Fair, and I see the Maryland Hillel table. A large sign is hanging in front of the table with bold letters. On top were various info cards—Birthright Israel trip promo, Shabbat dinner, an email sign up sheet and other promotional cards.

Growing up, my parents raised me as Methodist Christian. I’ve always thought that life is more valuable when you learn and connect with people from different cultures, so I walk up to the table. I am greeted by Annie, a bubbly woman who works with Hillel. She gives me a breakdown of what Hillel is and how I can get involved.

At first, I’m nervous because I only know the basics of Jewish culture. My high school is right next to an Orthodox Jewish neighborhood, and I occasionally went to my school’s Jewish Culture Club meetings with my Orthodox friend. Outside of that, my knowledge was minimal.

But with a smile on my face, I jot down my name and email. A couple of days later, I get an email about the North Campus Shabbat dinner.

I RSVP to the dinner because, why not? A couple of days later I walk into the Cambridge Community Center for my first Shabbat dinner. I’m of course extremely excited but also nervous. I feel shaky because I knew the kids at my high school, but now, as a college freshman, I only know a handful of people.

Honestly, I didn’t talk to anyone until dinner started. I was too nervous. As a student was preparing to say kiddush, the blessing over the grape juice, many questions were running through my head. Will I talk to anyone? What if no one likes me?

“Shabbat Shalom!” Annie said, with a large smile on her face.

She asked for volunteers to say the blessing and covered the loaves of challah with paper towels. Challah is a twisted or braided loaf of bread Jewish people eat to celebrate Sabbath or high holidays. A student walked up and said a short blessing in Hebrew. I held up my hand as if I was holding a cup full of grape juice (since I didn’t want to drink any), and said “amen” at the end. A blessing was also said for the challah, and then we lined up to eat!

There was a table filled with an array of amazing food. Shawarma, hummus, pita bread, salad, chocolate ice cream and this dish that had boiled potatoes in a flaky bread. I had a little bit of everything (minus the ice cream) and sat down at a table.

At first, I didn’t say much, quietly eating my shawarma wrapped in pita and looking around the room. After telling myself it would be a long night if I didn’t talk to anyone, I talked with the people at my table. I found out that some lived in my community on campus, and it was interesting to hear where everyone was from.

Eating another culture’s food is one of the best ways to learn about their culture. I had a piece of the freshly-baked challah and honestly, my life has been changed forever. I have never eaten bread that rich before.

One girl spoke about a gap year that she took with her friend in Israel. Along with studying, she and her friend got to explore Tel Aviv. Another girl mentioned her wanting to go back to Israel and serve in the Israel Defense Forces, Israel’s military.

This Shabbat dinner felt like more than just eating good food and having conversation. I was able to talk to people from a different background than me and learn more about their culture.

Before this dinner, I had no idea there were blessings for grape juice and challah before eating. By observing what was happening around me, I learned so much. I also learned more about Birthright Israel, which is an organization that organizes free trips to Israel for Jewish students around the world.

Throughout the night, various Hillel staff members came up to our table and talked about different events happening on campus. I am interested in joining an organization called Challah for Hunger, which sells loaves of challah with the proceeds going to charity.

Everyone at Hillel was so welcoming, and no one cared that I was not Jewish. I definitely want to go to another Shabbat dinner to connect with other students and expand my worldview. Also, the challah was amazing, and I’d love to have more!

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
FOLLOW ME
SEARCH BY TAGS
FEATURED POSTS
INSTAGRAM
ARCHIVE
bottom of page