top of page

Favorite Fall Foods


Image credit: Moli Dels Fanals

People love fall for different reasons: the leaves changing color, the cool breeze and the fashion (I can’t wait to wear my boots). But my favorite part of fall is the food. Fall comes with some of my favorite fruits and veggies, like butternut squash, sweet potatoes and carrots. One reason why I love these veggies is because of how versatile and nutritious they are.

Growing up, I loved fruits, but disliked vegetables like butternut squash. I hated them particularly because of their textures, but now I eat them whenever I can. Vegetables can replace starchy carbs (like spaghetti) or be incorporated into soups or salads.

“I don’t change my diet often and incorporating butternut squash in my diet is fun because the recipes I can make are endless,” said Shannon Borgoyn, a senior dietetics student.

According to Medical News Today, the USDA states that a cup of butternut squash has 82 calories,1.8 grams of protein, 0.18 grams of fat and 21.5 grams of carbohydrates, which includes 4 grams of sugar and 6.6 grams of fiber. It’s also a great source of potassium, vitamin C, magnesium, iron and calcium and aids in promoting healthy digestion, blood pressure, skin and hair.

A quick and easy recipe that I like to make with butternut squash is baked butternut squash:

Ingredient List

  1. 1 butternut squash

  2. ½ cup oil

  3. 1 clove of garlic

  4. 1 teaspoon salt and pepper

Directions

1. Preheat the oven to 400 F.

2. Wash and cut the squash into cubes, and put it into a large bowl.

3. Add ½ cup of the oil of your choice, one clove of garlic, salt and pepper to taste.

4. Put the squash on a baking sheet or aluminum foil and bake for 25 minutes to 30 minutes, or until tender and browned. This can be enjoyed on its own, as a side or as part of a salad.

Another fall vegetable I like is carrots. My family often jokes that I will turn orange because I eat so many carrots. Not only are they delicious, but they are also nutritious. Carrots can be eaten as a snack with peanut butter or hummus or as part of a salad; the options are limitless.

“Carrots are good to roast by themselves, or with other vegetables for a nice vegetarian side,” said Larry Tumlin, chef and manager at the Farmers’ Market at Maryland.

According to Health Line, carrots are 85 percent to 95 percent water, 25 calories and have 2.8 grams of fiber. Carrots are excellent sources of vitamin A, which is important for sight, growth and immune health; potassium, which is good for blood pressure; and carotenoids necessary for preventing certain cancers and macular degeneration, according to the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics.

A simple way I like to prepare carrots is a carrot mug cake:

Ingredients

  1. 2 tablespoons of butter

  2. 1 egg yolk

  3. 1 tablespoon of milk

  4. 1 teaspoon of vanilla

  5. ¼ cup of flour

  6. 1 tablespoon of sugar

  7. ½ teaspoon of baking soda

  8. ½ teaspoon of cinnamon

  9. 1 tablespoon of shredded carrots

Directions

  1. Melt 2 tablespoons of butter in a microwave for 60 seconds.

  2. Add 1 egg yolk, 1 tablespoon of milk, 1 teaspoon of vanilla, ¼ cup of flour, 1 tablespoon of sugar, ½ teaspoon of baking soda, ½ teaspoon cinnamon add in 1 tablespoon of shredded carrots and stir the mixture.

  3. Microwave for one minute or one minute and a half or until the cake is done. The cake can be eaten as is or with frosting.

Another one of my favorite fall vegetables is sweet potato. Besides pumpkins and carrots, these are often the most popular vegetables among children because they are sweet, savory and can be incorporated into many dishes. For myself and my friends, sweet potatoes often replace Irish potatoes in recipes. We eat tons of sweet potato fries and mashed sweet potatoes.

“Sweet potatoes are the new potatoes,” said Listya Suryani, a senior dietetics student.

According to Health Line, the USDA states that sweet potatoes are high in fiber, vitamin A, vitamin C, vitamin B5, vitamin B6, magnesium, and antioxidants. They are also filling.

A recipe I like to make with sweet potatoes is stuffed microwave sweet potatoes:

Ingredients

  1. 2 medium sweet potatoes

  2. 1 cup of shredded chicken

  3. ¾ cup of beans

  4. 1 cup of cheese

  5. ½ cup of salsa

Directions

  1. Place the sweet potatoes on a microwavable tray and make a hole with a knife in the middle.

  2. Microwave for 11 minutes, or until potatoes are tender.

  3. Add your favorite toppings. I usually add shredded chicken, beans, cheese and salsa.

The best part about these recipes is that you can also serve them at one of my favorite fall holidays: Thanksgiving!

What are some of your favorite fall foods?

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
FOLLOW ME
SEARCH BY TAGS
FEATURED POSTS
INSTAGRAM
ARCHIVE
bottom of page