top of page

The Dangers of Electric Scooters


Image credit: Ivan Radic

Birds, otherwise known as electric scooters, have been taking over College Park. Many students now use them as their main source of transportation to get to and from class. These scooters can be super useful to students because they make it easier for students to get around campus. In addition, due to their small size, electric scooters can be parked pretty much anywhere on campus.

Although, while the scooters are convenient and fun to ride, they can be unsafe.

Lorna Wilson, a junior finance and international business major, crashed her Bird a couple of months ago while on her way to class.

“I was on my way to the business school to take an exam and went over a crack in the road and fell,” said Wilson. “I was going full speed, and I fell straight on my chin and on my left wrist. I ended up spraining my left wrist and getting three stitches in my chin.”

Wilson bought a Bird to more efficiently get to classes which are far away, and she said that all of her friends had them, too. She also said she believes that having a Bird makes her more social because she is more willing to go places that are far away.

“The more I rode the Bird, the more comfortable I got with it, but then after I fell I was super nervous again,” said Wilson.

Wilson says even though it's been about a month since her accident, she still feels pain in her wrist. Despite her accident, however, Wilson still uses her Bird to get around campus.

“I’ve seen people texting while they ride and I think that's super dangerous. I think people need to Bird in the daylight when [they’re] sober without their phones on them or airpods,” said Wilson. “I think riding Birds in the streets is also so scary… So people should be careful with cars and the traffic signals,” said Wilson.

Students at the university have begun driving scooters on the road alongside traffic, and driving them fast on sidewalks, which are packed with students walking to class. Furthermore, since the scooters are not super heavy, it is easy for people to fall off of them.

Wilson said that if students are going to get a Bird, they should have to show a driver's license because she said she's seen really young people driving them who she believes probably shouldn't be.

Having students ride their electric scooters on the road can also be dangerous for drivers.

Bridget McCusker, a sophomore architecture major, has a car on campus, which she uses to get to and from work. According to McCusker, the scooters can be hard to see on roads, especially at night.

“From behind, the only light visible is a small blue light at the bottom, and when facing them, only a red light, both of which are not at particular eye level for drivers,” said McCusker. “The scooters also ride in the middle of streets, do not provide turn signals and do not stop at stop signs and some lights, from what I have witnessed.”

McCusker has had many bad experiences with electric scooters on the roads, which have made her nervous while driving.

“One time in particular I had the right of way to make a right turn, and a Bird scooter was making a left turn towards where I was coming from. They were in the middle of the street and almost hit my car… the only reason I saw them was because of a streetlight that was close by. If there was no street lights or if I was distracted at all I could have hit that student and because there are no set rules on Bird scooters it would have been my fault,” said McCusker.

The question of whether or not electric scooters have the right of way on busy roads is still up in the air. This can make it extremely difficult for drivers when they are next to a scooter and don’t know who has the right of way.

“These scooters are a hazard and unless there are more guidelines to where and when they came by used on and around campus, I can see them becoming a real danger to drivers, themselves, and other students,” said McCusker.

The many hazards which scooters bring have become an issue on campus. Despite this, students still seem to ride electric scooters for enjoyment.

Daniela Morgan, a sophomore public relations major, also thinks that electric scooters are extremely dangerous and hazardous when around cars. Although, this hasn’t stopped her from riding them in the past.

“While I’ve never ridden a Bird, I have ridden a VIA, which is the same thing. It was really fun to try out, so I understand the appeal,” said Morgan.

While scooters are still extremely popular on campus, many have begun to acknowledge the danger which they can pose to both students and drivers. The rules, or lack there-of, surrounding scooters seem to be the main issue in which students are facing in regards to their safety.

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
FOLLOW ME
SEARCH BY TAGS
FEATURED POSTS
INSTAGRAM
ARCHIVE
bottom of page